The USDA Economists Group welcomes the following new members:

Peyton Ferrier ERS
Regina Ware   GIPSA
Jeffery Hopkins ERS
Maureen Farrell OCIO-CTS-TSD-NCR
Chris Buras ERS
Betty J. Carter FSIS
Kamron Daugherty ERS
Caron Gala C-FARE
Graham Soley FAS
Sarah Tulman ERS
Steven Zahniser ERS

Membership is open to anyone with an interest in agricultural economics and policy for a low annual rate that supports programming.  Click here for more information on becoming a member of USDA Economists Group to...

In January, the Global Food Safety Forum, the American Chamber of Commerce in Vietnam and Vietnamese organizations signed a memorandum of understanding on cooperation in food safety. In April, Rick Gilmore, founder and CEO of Global Food Safety Forum, will visit Vietnam on an exploratory mission to gauge the needs of relevant parties in business and government. Read more at

GFSF is a not-for-profit organ...

Last week, the USDA Economists Group had its annual meeting and awards presentations. This annual event is one of the highlights of the year for the Group. We were fortunate to be joined by ERS Administrator Mary Bohman, USDA Chief Economist Rob Johansson, and FFAS Acting Deputy Under Secretary Jason Hafemeister. For the second consecutive year, it was a treat to have former ERS Administrator John Lee with us.

The award winners were as follows:

Economist of the Year: Barbara Fecso (FSA) for her...

On January 24, USDA Economists Group President Steve Neff opened the organization’s 26th Annual Meeting in Whitten 107A. He noted that the Group brings together economists from USDA, the private sector, and academia and recalled the 18th Annual Meeting, when Sec. Vilsack praised the work of economists.

Barbara Fecso of FSA received the Economist of the Year Award for her work on the existing U.S.-Mexico suspension agreement governing sugar trade and her continued hard work and dedication to the s...

Please reload